Local Coffee Guide

Since one of my friends recommended I grind my coffee beans every time I want some caffeine, I have discovered a whole new world of coffee. I recently started scouting out local coffee roasters in Ottawa, Toronto and Montreal. You can often find these in locally owned coffee shops or at farmers markets. The price point for local coffee beans is also about the average bag of coffee from a chain.

IMG_0907

Ottawa

Cloud Forest Coffee

I stumbled open Cloud Forest Coffee at a craft market about a year ago. I instantly fell in love with the flavour and depth of the beans. The scent of the coffee generally draws me into tasting it. I have since cycled through two bags of the medium roast coffee beans. I have seen this coffee sold at Life of Pie on Bank Street if you haven’t found them at the farmers market yet.

https://cloudforestcoffee.ca

Poppa Bean Cofee 

Poppa Bean Coffee Roastery, I have had the pleasure of having each time I visit the Lansdowne Farmers Market. I always bring my reusable mug knowing that there will be fresh local coffee available. The coffee profile is refreshing and light. Spots where you can grab these beans include Whole Foods, The Herb and Spice shop on Wellington St W and Seed to Sausage on Gladstone.

Little Victories Coffee

Another local coffee shop in the Glebe. I bought two bags of the Sunshine bags and they were mild and easy to drink. The shop has a few other beans to offer and they are located in a great spot!

Other spots in Ottawa where I have had cups of coffee but not yet bought beans: Equator Coffee Roasters, Happy Goat Coffee Co. and Joe the Dog Coffee.

Greater Toronto Area

Detour Coffee Roasters (Hamilton)

DT_YR_Bottleneck_Bag_Front_416x416

Oddly enough, I first had this coffee in St. John’s. NL at the Merchant Tavern. I had asked the waiter where the coffee was from because it was so rich in flavour. Turns out, the coffee beans are from Detour Coffee Roasters based in Hamilton, ON. So, when I found the beans at Oat Couture Oatmeal Café on Bank St. I knew I had to get a bag. I finished an entire bag of Bottleneck in a few weeks and wish I could buy it again.

De Mello Palheta

unnamed

I have had this coffee on numerous occasions throughout the GTA. It took a trip to Montreal to actually buy these beans and I have had a cup a day ever since. The flavour and depth of the beans is impeccable and holds a rich flavour. I highly recommend this coffee brand.

Other coffee I have had a few times and thoroughly enjoyed include Pilot Coffee Roasters, Quantum Coffee, Jimmy’s Coffee, Hale Coffee Company, and Hatch.

Montreal

Kona Coffee (at Aloha Espresso Bar in Old Montreal)

Cafe_Kona_100_Coffee

I found this coffee shop on a work trip in Montreal. It was a cozy café with food and drink. The moment I had a cup of coffee, I knew I needed a bag of beans. The beans are rich and offer a different flavour profile than other coffee beans I have had before. It was more of a tropical blend and delicious! I have since gone through two bags and had to go back to get more.

I haven’t had too many opportunities to explore the Montreal coffee scene but notable cafes I have been to include Crew Collective and Café, La Finca café & bureau, Melk Bar a Café, and café Origine.

Leave a comment